Georgia Distinguished Cooperator Award Recipients


D.W. Brooks

Clarence Edwards

Frank H. McDowell

W.H. Newberry, Sr.

Robert D. Tisinger



Valene Bennett

Rudolph Clark

Cary M. Davis

M.C. Leslie

James Robinson



Curtis A. Beall

Hubert Hancock

Billy D. Mitchell

Ralph D. Mobley

G.V. Yokely



Schley Moore

W.J. Smith, Jr.

Herbert Ingram

Don W. Sands



Cary F. Hays, Jr.

Gray Hinton

Emmet O. Cabaniss, Jr.

James Meriwether



Ralph Paige

Gene Marks

Richard Talton

Charles C. Williams

J.G. McCalmon



Reece Whitehead

Ray Haynes

Holmes Neel

Raymon A. Adams



Ralph Balkcom

Julian Raburn

W.N. Bill Peters



Jean Rice

Lehman Lanier

Henry Owens



Jack Hogan

Marvin McAvoy

William Canup

Carroll Castleberry



Ron Atkinson

Bill Boyce

Eloy Farr

Maxie Love

W.P. Smith, Jr.



John S. Dean

William Higginbotham

Gus Johnson

Jim Loftis

James Roy Malone, Sr.

Alvin White



Willis Berry

Richard Bird

Gaylord Coan

Darrell Holder

John McElmurrary

J.L. Steed, Jr.



Benson Ham

S.J. Saffold, Jr.

Craig Scroggs

Henry S. Verner

Dennis Waldrep



Thomas N. Bagwell

Sanford L. Jones

Earl Merritt

Robert B. Moss



James M. Andrew

Lewis Bryant

Frances Edmunds

Willis Woodruff

Franklin B. Wright



Vincent “Zippy” Duvall

Tom Thompson, Jr.

Everett Williams

Roger Youngblood



Benny W. Denham

John B. Floyd, Jr.

Dan Raines, Jr.

David O. Addis



Hugh B. Cromer

David Dozier

Robert L. Holden, Jr.

Bob Jernigan



Sam Rabun

Paul Wood

Richard Schermerhorn



John C. McKissick

Charles Rucks

Richard G. (Dick) Tisinger, Jr.



Noel Riggins

Raphael A. Brumbeloe



Donald C. Cooper



Jeff S. Pierce, Jr.

Ray E. Meaders



Kenneth Cook



Harrell Landreth

Stan McMikle

Randy Nichols

Richard L. West



Tom Kight

Ann Orowski

Randall Pugh



Hill Bentley

Frank Coker

Gary Drake

Van McCall






Seven Cooperative Principles

Cooperatives around the world operate according to the same set of core principles and values, adopted by the International Cooperative Alliance. Cooperatives trace the roots of these principles to the first modern cooperative founded in Rochdale, England in 1844.

1. Open and Voluntary Membership

Membership in a cooperative is open to all persons who can use its services and stand willing to accept the responsibilities of membership, regardless of race, religion, gender, or economic circumstances.

2.  Democratic Member Control

Cooperatives are democratic organizations controlled by their members, who actively participate in setting policies and making decisions. Elected representatives (directors/trustees) are elected from among the membership and are accountable to the membership. In primary cooperatives, members have equal voting rights (one member, one vote); cooperatives at other levels are organized in a democratic manner.

3. Members’ Economic Participation

Members contribute equitably to, and democratically control, the capital of their cooperative. At least part of that capital remains the common property of the cooperative. Members allocate surpluses for any or all of the following purposes: developing the cooperative; setting up reserves; benefiting members in proportion to their transactions with the cooperative; and supporting other activities approved by the membership.

4. Autonomy and Independence

Cooperatives are autonomous, self-help organizations controlled by their members. If they enter into agreements with other organizations, including governments, or raise capital from external sources, they do so on terms that ensure democratic control as well as their unique identity.

5. Education, Training, and Information

Education and training for members, elected representatives (directors/trustees), CEOs, and employees help them effectively contribute to the development of their cooperatives. Communications about the nature and benefits of cooperatives, particularly with the general public and opinion leaders, helps boost cooperative understanding.

6. Cooperation Among Cooperatives

By working together through local, national, regional, and international structures, cooperatives improve services, bolster local economies, and deal more effectively with social and community needs.

7. Concern for Community

Cooperatives work for the sustainable development of their communities through policies supported by the membership.

Purpose & History

The Council’s ongoing mission is to promote and foster cooperatives and to educate Georgians about cooperatives and the vital role they play in growing and supporting the nation’s economy.

Cooperatives are businesses that are owned and operated by their members. These businesses not only serve the interests of members, but they also dedicate substantial human and financial resources to serve their communities beyond their business functions. Concern for community is a core guiding cooperative principle and the community commitment of cooperatives enhances economic opportunity and improves quality of life in Georgia’s cities and towns.



Officers and Directors

irwin-emc-randy-crenshaw-2010 President – Randy Crenshaw
CEO Middle Georgia/ Irwin EMC
Ocilla, GA
jeff-mcphail Vice President – Jeff McPhail
Cotton Specialist, StapICotn Cooperative
Statesboro, GA
smith-christy-2016 Treasurer – Christy B. Smith
Marketing Director, AgSouth Farm Credit
Statesboro, GA
mark-camp Mark Camp
District Manager Southern States Cooperative
Concord, GA
newheadshotgalecutler-cropped Gale Cutler
Public Relations Coordinator,  Georgia EMC
Tucker, GA
tony-griffin Tony Griffin
General Manager, Rayle EMC
Washington, GA
Karen Hawkins
Dairy Farmers of America
Eatonton, GA
snapping-shoals-brad-thomas Brad Thomas
President/CEO, Snapping Shoals EMC
Covington, GA
al-burns Ex-Officio – Al Burns
USDA Rural Development
craig-scroggs Ex-Officio Emeritus – J. Craig Scroggs
USDA Rural Development,  Retired
cindy-greene Executive Director – Cindy W. Greene

Georgia Cooperative Council Members

Banking/Credit Unions

Dairy Cooperatives:

Marketing and Supply Cooperatives:

Electric Membership Cooperatives